The All-Party Oireachtas Committee on the Constitution 1997-2002

The All-Party Oireachtas Committee on the Constitution (the Lenihan Committee) was established on 16 October 1997.

Brian Lenihan TD (FF), chairman
Jim O'Keeffe TD (FG), vice-chairman
Brendan Daly TD (FF)
Senator John Dardis (PD)
Thomas Enright TD (FG)
Séamus Kirk TD (FF)
Derek McDowell TD (LAB)
Marian McGennis TD (FF)
Liz McManus TD (LAB)
Senator Denis O'Donovan (FF)
Senator Fergus O'Dowd TD (FG)
Senator Kathleen O'Meara (LAB)

Its terms of reference charged it with a full review of the Constitution, having regard to the Report of the Constitution Review Group. The committee published five progress reports and two commissioned works.

Third Progress Report — The President (1998)

Fourth Progress Report — The Courts and the Judiciary (1999)

Fifth Progress Report — Abortion (2000)

Sixth Progress Report — The Referendum (2001)

Seventh Progress Report — Parliament (2002)

A New Electoral System for Ireland? Michael Laver, published in association with The Policy Institute TCD (1998)

Bunreacht na hÉireann: A study of the Irish text, Micheál Ó Cearúil, with original contributions by Professor Máirtín Ó Murchú (1999)